Voluntary manslaughter, involuntary manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter are very serious criminal offenses in the state of Ohio with unforgiving penalties if you are convicted.
In Ohio, there are several different kinds of manslaughter charges you can face.
Voluntary manslaughter is defined according to the Ohio Revised Code ( ORC 2903.03 ) as anyone who knowingly causes the death of another person or their unborn child while under the influence of sudden passion or a sudden fit of rage, which is brought on by serious provocation by the victim that is reasonably sufficient to incite the person into using deadly force.
If you are convicted for voluntary manslaughter, you will be charged with a first degree felony. This entails at least three years and a most ten years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000.
Involuntary manslaughter is defined according to the Ohio Revised Code ( ORC 2903.04 ) as anyone who causes the death of another person or their unborn child as the result of committing or attempting to commit a misdemeanor or felony. Involuntary manslaughter differs from manslaughter in that the individual lacks the intention in committing the offense.
The penalties for involuntary manslaughter depend on the severity of the facts and circumstances of your case.
If you are convicted for involuntary manslaughter during the commission of a felony offense, you will face at minimum a first degree felony. This entails at least three years and at most 10 years in prison and at most $20,000 in fines.
If you are convicted for involuntary manslaughter during the commission of a misdemeanor offense, you face at minimum a third degree felony. This entails at least one and at most five years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Vehicular manslaughter is defined according to Ohio Revised Code ( ORC 2903.06 ) as anyone who while operating a motor vehicle causes the death of another person or their unborn child on the road as the result of a misdemeanor traffic violation, or by violating any equivalent municipal ordinance.
Oftentimes, other offenses such as DUI / OVI or reckless driving are involved with vehicular manslaughter charges. Vehicular manslaughter will add 6 points to your driver’s license.
If you are convicted of vehicular manslaughter, the resulting penalties will depend on the severity of the facts and circumstances of your case. Vehicular manslaughter is typically charged as a first degree misdemeanor. This entails up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Aggravated Vehicular Manslaughter
Aggravated vehicular manslaughter can be defined according to the Ohio Revised Code ( ORC 2903.06 ) as anyone who while operating a motor vehicle causes the death of another person or their unborn child as the result of either of the following:
- Reckless behavior or operation of a motor vehicle or other form of transportation; or
- Operating a motor vehicle or other form of transportation while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you are convicted of aggravated vehicular manslaughter, then you will face a first degree felony. This entails at least three years and at most ten years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines.
Other Consequences of Involuntary manslaughter, voluntary manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter
Involuntary manslaughter, voluntary manslaughter and vehicular manslaughter are all complicated criminal charges that require a great deal of attention to detail. A conviction for one of these charges can have a devastating impact on one’s life.
To be handled properly and in order to achieve the best possible outcome for your case, it is imperative that you contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. These kinds of cases are convoluted and the law is often changing, so contacting an experienced attorney becomes important to begin collecting evidence from medical experts, investigative experts and eyewitness testimony to name a few. Additionally, it is also important to begin consulting an attorney immediately, as all parties involved are often emotionally charged and the media may have a desire to report on these kinds of cases.
Obtaining an experienced, knowledgeable and trustworthy attorney is crucial if you’re facing manslaughter charges. Due to Luftman, Heck, & Associates Cincinnati Criminal Defense team’s extensive experience handling manslaughter charges, they will be able to achieve the best possible outcome for you and your case.
Facing criminal charges? Contact us today.
Criminal charges can be an overwhelming and frightening experience. You are probably worried about your freedoms and privileges being at stake and have a lot of questions. You can rest assured, because the Cincinnati Criminal Defense team is here for you. Get the justice that you deserve. Don’t hesitate to contact us today at (513) 338-1890 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org .