Most drivers have had the unpleasant experience of receiving a traffic ticket and know that the unfortunate consequences can include heavy fines, points on your license and a possible increase in your insurance rates. Teen drivers face the same consequences, but for them, a traffic ticket can also mean a significant loss of their independence. In addition, teen drivers have to face an Ohio texting and driving law that is stricter for them than it is for adult drivers.
If you are a teen driver or the parents of one, it is important to remember that a Cincinnati traffic ticket lawyer can help to mitigate the impact of a traffic violation.
Call im电竞官网 today at (513) 338-1890 to find out how we can help you.
Traffic Tickets Limit a Probationary Driver’s License
Teen drivers in Ohio are not eligible to receive a driver’s license until they reach the age of 18. Instead, teen drivers are issued a probationary driver’s license, which allows them to drive without a parent or guardian in the car. However, between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m., driving privileges are restricted.
If a teen driver under the age of 17 commits a moving violation within six months of receiving a probationary driver’s license, the court can order the license holder to be accompanied by a parent or guardian while driving for a period of up to 6 months. A second moving violation would grant the court power to terminate all driving privileges granted by the probationary driver’s license.
Ohio’s Texting and Driving Law Is Focused on Teen Drivers
Ohio has established a so-called “texting and driving” law that makes it illegal for drivers to use handheld communications devices while operating a vehicle. For adult drivers, a texting and driving violation is currently considered a secondary offense, which means that a law enforcement officer can only issue a traffic ticket for texting and driving if the driver was already stopped for another reason.
The texting and driving law is much stricter for teen drivers. Drivers under 18 years of age and those with probationary driver’s licenses are similarly prohibited from using handheld communications devices while operating a vehicle. However, for those drivers texting and driving is considered a primary offense and a law enforcement officer can pull over the driver specifically for a texting and driving ticket. A first offense for a teen driver leads to a $150 fine and a six-month driver’s license suspension, while a second offense leads to a fine of $300 and a license suspension of one year.
How a Cincinnati Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Help
Teen drivers can make mistakes while driving due to their inexperience or inattention. Those mistakes can quickly lead to a traffic ticket resulting in a substantial loss of driving privileges. Losing driving privileges can create both social and financial hardships for teenagers. An experienced Cincinnati criminal defense attorney can help prevent the most severe consequences.
Attorney Brad Groene with im电竞官网 is a knowledgeable Cincinnati traffic ticket lawyer who has represented clients on a wide range of traffic offenses from moving violations to drunk driving and has worked hard to achieve the best possible outcome in each case. Contact im电竞官网 to get the help that you need.
Call (513) 338-1890 to set up a free and confidential consultation.