Free Consultation / 24 Hours a Day - (513) 338-1890

What You Need to Know about Ohio’s New Permitless Carry Gun Law

Posted On: August 17th, 2022 by Bradley J. Groene
Gun next to permit

Ohio’s new constitutional carry laws have gone into effect, and over the last few weeks, many responsible gun owners have wondered how the new law will impact their rights. Understanding the permitless carry laws will be of utmost importance if you own a firearm.

What Is Ohio’s New Concealed Carry Law?

As of June 13, 2022, Ohio is officially a “permitless carry” or “constitutional carry” state. This means gun owners are no longer required by law to obtain a concealed handgun license (CHL) to have a handgun in their car or on them.

However, Ohio law still requires gun owners to be a minimum of 21 years of age to legally possess a firearm. Permitless carriers are not allowed to carry a handgun within their vehicle when entering a school safety zone but are otherwise subject to the same state and federal laws CHL holders carry.

The constitutional carry laws will not prevent businesses from being allowed to prohibit firearms within their establishments. It will still be illegal to carry concealed weapons in school buildings, courthouses, or other types of mandated properties.

Constitutional Carry Only Applies to Handguns in Ohio

It is important to note that the new constitutional carry laws will only apply to handguns. It is still illegal for permitless carriers to carry shotguns, rifles, and other types of long guns without a permit.

Do You Have to Tell the Police You’re Carrying?

You have no legal obligation under the new constitutional carry laws to disclose that you have a handgun when police stop you. However, if police ask if you are carrying a weapon, you are required by law to answer truthfully.

Failure to inform a police officer that you are carrying a weapon after being asked violates the law and could be charged as a first-degree misdemeanor . You could pay fines as high as $1,000 and face as much as 180 days in county jail if convicted.

You still must inform the police you are carrying a weapon if you are carrying any other type of weapon other than a handgun.

Permits Are Still Available

Although you are no longer required to obtain a CHL to possess a handgun, they are still available. The Ohio Attorney General recommends getting your CHL for safety instruction, training experience, and having the ability to carry in other states. If you obtain your CHL, you can skip a background check when you purchase a firearm.

CHL training includes eight hours of in-person instruction where you will learn how to:

  • Operate a handgun
  • Handle a gun and ammunition safely
  • Practice shooting a pistol safely at a shooting range
  • Become familiar with Ohio’s concealed carry, constitutional carry, and self-defense laws

Can You Carry Outside Ohio?

You have the right to carry outside of Ohio, but you are required to adhere to the laws of the state in which you are traveling. Many states have reciprocity agreements that allow citizens to carry firearms outside Ohio.

However, some states do not have reciprocity agreements in place. They do not recognize an Ohioan’s CHL, nor will they recognize an Ohioan’s ability to carry without a permit.

You could face criminal penalties if you violate another state’s gun laws. Make sure you understand the laws where you are traveling before exercising your Ohio right to carry in that state.

Penalties for Violating Concealed Carry Laws

If you are found in violation of concealed carry laws, you could still face criminal charges. This is generally a misdemeanor but could be charged as a felony depending on the specific circumstances of your case.

If convicted of a misdemeanor, you could spend time in jail and be ordered to pay fines as high as $1,000. However, convicted of a felony, you could spend as much as 18 months in prison.

Furthermore, you could face many collateral consequences if you are found guilty. Some of these penalties could include:

These are only a few ways your life could be affected if you are guilty of a gun charge . Violating concealed carry laws could have a devastating impact on your life.

Fortunately, with the constitutional carry laws in place, you should now be able to carry your handgun without a permit and exercise your right to bear arms responsibly without fearing prosecution.

Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Cincinnati for Help Today

The constitutional carry laws will significantly impact the number of gun charges filed across the state. Contact an experienced Cincinnati criminal defense lawyer at im电竞官网 for help if you find yourself arrested and facing gun-related charges.

Our firm offers no-cost, risk-free consultations to those facing gun charges across Cincinnati. Take advantage of this opportunity by calling our office at (513) 338-1890 or completing our convenient contact form .



★★★★★
Bradley Groene made an exceptionally difficult situation much easier to handle. He kept me informed of everything that was going to happen and got results for my case far better than I could have hoped for. I would highly recommend him for anyone who finds themselves in legal troubles.

友情链: 新IM电竞平台首页 im电竞直播大厅-新出的电竞竞猜 | IM电竞平台注册 - im电竞官方app下载 电竞体育官网首页 | IM电竞登录-im电竞滚盘官网_电竞体育真人竞猜注册送 | im电竞永久官网-im电竞比分网官网登录|电竞体育平台送彩金 | IM电竞网站 _ im电竞比赛竞猜,电竞竞猜直播 | im电竞比分网~亚博IM电竞足球~电竞竞猜贴吧最新 | im电竞下注 IM电竞专业电竞平台-电竞竞猜推荐平台 |